The staff here at Speaker TV have put together a list of their favourite musical offerings in 2017, to reflect on the year that was.

Andy O’Connor – Managing Editor 


yaeji – EP2 

King Krule – The OOZ 

Jen Cloher – Jen Cloher 

Tyler, The Creator – Flower Boy 

RVG – A Quality Of Mercy 


Jess Locke – ‘Universe’

Hemm – ‘Dearest Friend’

yaeji – ‘raingurl’

Baro – ‘Pretty’

HTMLflowers – ‘God On My Hitlist’

Sleep D & Albrecht La’Brooy – ‘31 Degrees’

Tyler, The Creator – ‘I Ain’t Got Time!’

Destroyer – ‘Sky’s Grey’

Cardi B – ‘Bodak Yellow’

Harvey Sutherland & Bermuda – ‘Coast 2 Coast’

Nisa Ates – Editor


Tyler, The Creator – Flower Boy

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Flying Microtonal Banana

Ocean Grove – The Rhapsody Tapes

Deadlights – Mesma

Belle Haven – You, Me and Everything In Between


Tyler, The Creator – ‘See You Again’

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – ‘Nuclear Fusion’

Deadlights – ‘The Mad Scientist’

Ocean Grove – ‘Intimate Alien’

Belle Haven – ‘The Carving Knife’

Brother Ali – ‘Own Light (What Hearts Are Made For)’

Crooked Colours – ‘Come Back To You’

E^ST – ‘Life Goes On’

The Used – ‘Over and Over Again’

Khalid – ‘Saved’


 James Watterston – Editor/Videographer


Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy

Vince Staples – Big Fish Theory 

Kendrick Lamar – DAMN. 

Jay Z – 4:44



Tyler, The Creator – ‘911/Mr Lonely’

Kendrick Lamar – ‘DNA.’

Jaden Smith – ‘Icon’

Vince Staples – ‘Love Can Be…’

Vince Stapes – ‘Yeah Right’

Drake – ‘Teenage Fever’

Tyler, The Creator – ‘I Ain’t Got Time!’

Kendrick Lamar – ‘GOD’

Jaden Smith – ‘The Passion’

A$AP Mob – ‘RAF’

Billy Crombie – Editor


Kendrick Lamar – DAMN.

Kirin J Callinan – Bravado

Jen Cloher – Jen Cloher

Dirty Projectors – Dirty Projectors

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Sketches of Brunswick East


Alex Cameron – ‘Stranger’s Kiss’

Kimbra – ‘Top of the World’

Gorillaz – ‘Saturns Barz’

Alice Ivy – ‘Get Me a Drink’

Jack River – ‘Fool’s Gold’

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – ‘Nuclear Fusion’

Francis and the Lights – ‘May I Have This Dance? (ft. Chance the Rapper)’

Leah Senior – ‘You Were Not Fit For The Day’

POND – ‘Paint Me Silver’

Superorganism – ‘Something For Your M.I.N.D.’

Tennyson Tinning – Intern


(Sandy) Alex G – Rocket

Sampha – Process

Mount Kimbie – Love What Survives

LCD Soundsystem – american dream

Tyler, The Creator – Flower Boy


LCD Soundsystem – ‘american dream’

Jonti – ‘Rain’

Kendrick Lamar – ‘DNA.’

King Krule – ‘Dum Surfer’

(Sandy) Alex G – ‘Proud’

Sampha – ‘(No One Knows Me) Like The Piano’

Mount Kimbie – ‘Blue Train Lines (ft. King Krule)’

Touch Sensitive – ‘Lay Down’

Tyler, The Creator – ‘Boredom (ft. Rex Orange County & Anna Of The North)

Love Deluxe – ‘Cool Breeze Over The Mountains’

Gideon Sztajer – Intern


Fountaineer – Greater City, Greater Love

Mount Eerie – A Crow Looked at Me

Lorde – Melodrama


Gang of Youths – Go Farther In Lightness


Boys – ‘Charli XCX’


Gang of Youths – ‘The Deepest Sighs and The Frankest Shadows’

SZA – ‘Love Galore (Ft. Travis $cott)’

Jay Z – ‘The Story of OJ’

Rina Sawayama – ‘Take Me As I Am’

Harry Styles – ‘Sign of the Times’

Kendrick Lamar – ‘HUMBLE.’

The Smith Street Band – ‘Birthdays’

Tyler The Creator – ‘Who Dat Boy (Ft. A$AP Rocky)’

Karla Gillbard – Intern


Lonelyspeck – Lave EP

Feels – Emerald EP

Kllo – Backwater

HTMLflowers – Chrome Halo

Lupa J – A House I Don’t Remember EP


Lorde – ‘Hard Feelings/Loveless’

Eilish Gilligan – ‘The Feeling’

Elkkle – ‘Frails’

Dua Lipa – ‘New Rules’

SOPHIE – ‘It’s Okay To Cry’

Vera Blue – ‘Said Goodbye To Your Mother’

SAATSUMA – ‘Feel It All’

George Maple – ‘Everybody Here Wants You’

Aphir – ‘Too Well’

Lady Zamar – ‘My Baby’

Julian Consiglio – Intern


Gorillaz – Humanz

Declan Mckenna – What Do You Think About The Car?

Beck – Colours

Marksman Lloyd – Portals

LCD Soundsystem – american dream


Declan Mckenna – ‘Brazil’

Vance Joy – ‘Lay It On Me’

Vance Joy – ‘Like Gold’

LCD Soundsystem – ‘oh baby’

Beck – ‘Colours’

Beck – ‘I’m So Free’

Gorillaz – ‘Saturnz Barz’

Miami Horror – ‘Leila’

Marksman Lloyd– ‘Pause (Feat. Coin Banks, Sable and Nick Di Lena)’

Bernard Fanning – ‘Isn’t It A Pity’

There’s been a lot happening in music in 2017.

Kendrick Lamar cemented his authority as the best and most creative rapper of the modern age with his exceptional fourth studio album, DAMN.

However, Kendrick had no shortage of competitors on the hip-hop front, with Drake, Migos and Tyler, The Creator pushing their case as the best acts in hip-hop with acclaimed albums of their own.

Just like 2016, there were numerous returns from near-forgotten bands like Slowdive, The Jesus and Mary Chain and At The Drive In, as well as long-term absentees in Lorde, LCD Soundsystem and JAY-Z.

There’s been no shortage of huge pop releases either, with some of the biggest names in the genre making inspiring returns.

Albeit strangely rebranded, Katy Perry and Taylor Swift each released widely criticized albums. The same lovesick Ed Sheeran showed the two that a rewiring is not required, as he became the most streamed artist of 2017 following his third studio album.

At the beginning of 2017, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard pledged to release five albums in the year. They’ve just put out their fourth, with number five set for a festive release.

The ‘all-American boy-band’, BROCKHAMPTON, also had a prolific year. Just last week, the California-based collective dropped SATURATION III, following the release of SATURATION I and SATURATION II  earlier this year.