The nominees for Carlton Dry’s Independent Music Awards have been announced, including those for Best Independent Label.  The Best Independent Label award started in 2012, to commemorate the work done by local, homegrown record labels. Previous winners of the award include I OH YOU (2014), Future Classic (2013) and Elefant Traks (2012). The awards will be presented by AIR (Australian Independent Record Labels Association) in association with naming rights partner Carlton Dry and major partner Rdio.

The ceremony will take place at Meat Market in North Melbourne on October 22. The awards will be hosted by radio and television presenter Dylan Lewis. To be elligible for nomination, labels must have artists and releases nominated for other awards in the given year.

Nominees for Carltron Dry’s Best Independent Label Award

Elefant Traks
A leading hip-hop label who won the inaugural award in 2012, Elefant Traks have released over 50 albums and co-ordinated many tours since 1998.
2015 Nominations:
Hermitude (Best Artist)
Hermitude – Dark Night Sweet Light (Best Album)
Hermitude – The Buzz (Feat. Mataya & Young Tapz) (Best Single/EP)
Hermitude – Dark Night Sweet Light (Best Dance/Electronica Album)
One Day – Mainline (Best Hip Hop Album)

Future Classic
Releasing music for many established artists, such as Flume, Flight Facilities and Chet Faker, Future Classic picked up the award back in 2013.
2015 Nominations:
Chet Faker (Best Artist)
Flight Facilities – Down To Earth (Best Album)
Flight Facilities – Down To Earth (Best Dance/Electronica Album)
Seekae – The Worry (Best Dance/Electronica Album)
Ta-Ku – Songs To Make Up To (Best Dance/Electronica Album)
Hayden James – Something About You (Best Dance/Electronica or Club Single)

Ivy League Records
Also home to some very successful acts such as Cloud Control and The Rubens, Ivy League Records has been going strong since it’s humble beginnings in 1997.
2015 Nominations:
Bad//Dreems – Cuffed & Collared (Best Single/EP)

Liberation Music
The Melbourne based label has an impressive roster, featuring artists like The Temper Trap, Vance Joy and British India.
2015 Nominations:

Vance Joy (Best Artist)
Vance Joy – Dream Your Life Away (Best Album)
Vance Joy – Fire and the Flood (Best Single or EP)
Troy Cassar-Daley – Freedom Ride (Best Country Album)
British India – Nothing Touches Me (Best Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album)

Milk! Records
With recent beginnings, Milk! Records came about in 2012, releasing the debut EP of Courtney Barnett, and since releasing music from many more artists.
2015 Nominations:
Courtney Barnett (Best Artist)
Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit (Best Album)
Courtney Barnett – Depreston (Best Single or EP)
Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian At Best (Best Single or EP)
Fraser A. Gorman – Slow Gum (Best Blues and Roots Album)

See all the nominees here.