The 4th Annual AACTA Awards were broadcast on Channel 10 last night, and celebrated young and veteran talents of the Australian film and television industry.

Hosted by Australian TV darling Deborah Mailman, and film and theatre queen Cate Blanchett, the ceremony took place at Sydney‘s lavish The Star event centre.

The Australian Academy Cinema Television Arts (AACTA) awards are most commonly referred to as the Australian Oscars, and congratulate the biggest and best homegrown productions of 2014-15.

ABC’s The Code was a big winner on the night, picking up four trophies, including best television drama series.

Predestination‘s Sarah Snook claimed the award for best lead actress, David Gulpilil was named best lead actor for Charlie’s Country, and there was a rare tie for best film, with The Water Diviner and The Babadook sharing the top honour.

The highlights of the night? Hollywood heartthrob Ryan Gosling‘s awkward cameo in Russell Crowe‘s live cross, and a rather gorgeous camel brought on by actors and presenters Dan Wyllie and Stephen Curry as a reference to the Mia Wasikowska drama, Tracks.

The full list of winners are below:

Longford Lyell Award:
Andrew Knight

Byron Kennedy Award:
Amiel Courtin-Wilson

Trailblazer Award:
Rose Byrne

Award for Best Visual Effects or Animation:
The Lego Movie – Chris McKay, Amber Naismith, Aidan Sarsfield and Grant Freckelton


Award for Best Television Comedy Series:
Utopia: Santo Cilauro, Tom Gleisner, Michael Hirsh and Rob Sitch – ABC

Award for Best Light Entertainment Television Series:
Hamish and Andy’s Gap Year South America: Tim Bartley, Sophia Mogford, Frank Bruzzese and Ryan Shelton – Nine Network

Award for Best Reality television series:
The Voice Australia: Julie Ward – Nine Network

Award for Best Television Drama Series:
The Code: Shelley Birse, David Maher and David Taylor – ABC

Award for Best Telefeature or Mini Series:
Devil’s Playground: Helen Bowden, Penny Chapman, Blake Ayshford and Simon Burke

Award for Best Direction in A Television Drama or Comedy:
The Code: ‘Episode 1’ Shawn Seet – ABC

Award for Best Screenplay in Television:
Please Like Me Episode 2/07: ‘Scroggin’ Josh Thomas

Award for Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama:
Ashley Zukerman, The Code – ABC

Award for Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama:
Marta Dusseldorp, Janet King – ABC

Award for Best Guest or Supporting Actor in a Television Drama:
Eamon Farren, Carlotta – ABC

Award for Best Guest or Supporting Actress in a Television Drama:
Chelsie Preston Crayford, The Code ‘Episode 1’ – ABC

Award for Best Performance in a Television Comedy:
Debra Lawrance, Please Like Me – ABC2


Award for Best Feature Length Documentary:
Ukraine Is Not A Brothel, Kitty Green, Jonathan auf der Heide and Michael Latham


Award for Best Film:
The Babadook, Kristina Ceyton and Kristian Moliere and The Water Diviner, Andrew Mason, Keith Rodger and Troy Lum

Award for Best Direction:
The Babadook, Jennifer Kent

Award for Best Original Screenplay:
The Babadook, Jennifer Kent

Award for Best Adapted Screenplay:
The Railway Man, Frank Cottrell Boyce and Andy Paterson

Award for Best Lead Actor:
David Gulpilil, Charlie’s Country

Award for Best Lead Actress:
Sarah Snook, Predestination

Award for Best Supporting Actor:
Yilmaz Erdogan, The Water Diviner

Award for Best Supporting Actress:
Susan Prior, The Rover