Coopers AMP has announced that 23-year-old Melbourne artist REMI is the winner of the 10th Australian Music Prize for his album Raw X Infinity.

REMI and musical collaborator Sensible J are one of the fastest-rising hip-hop acts in Australia and are quickly gaining international recognition, with the album receiving numerous awards, nominations and critical acclaim around the world.

Of his win, REMI said, “It’s absolutely crazy. We put everything we could into this album and to get this kind of recognition is amazing. I mean, we made this album in Sensible J’s spare bedroom so to be nominated at this level is pretty mind-blowing. We really just want to say a massive thanks to anyone who has listened to it closely and supported us so far.”

Taking home $30,000 in prize money courtesy of PPCA, REMI was officially announced at the AMPed Up in Conversation event, presented by PPCA and held at the Paddington Town Hall in Sydney.

REMI’s album was selected by the expert 15 member industry judging panel made up of artists, media and retailers from across Australia including Chairperson Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Chris Berkley (Red Eye Records, Sydney), Mikey Cahill (New Ltd), Bryget Chrisfield (The Music), Jen Cloher (artist), Mike Glynn (JB Hi FI), Chris Johnston (Fairfax), Tim Levinson (Urthboy), Sam Lockwood (The Jezabels), Shannon Logan (Jet Black Cat Music, Brisbane), Nate Nott (Polyester Records, Melbourne), Christopher Powell (Blackwood Sounds, Adelaide), Sarah Smith (Sound Alliance), Myf Warhurst (Double J), and Bernard Zuel (Fairfax).

Coopers AMP Founder and Director Scott B. Murphy said, “REMI’s win reflects all that we aim to achieve each year, as the Coopers AMP seeks to recognise Australian music of excellence across all genres. It’s amazing to see hip-hop in Australia grow so quickly. I want to congratulate REMI on his win, and hope that the $30,000 provided by PPCA will allow him to continue inspiring us with great music.”

The shortlisted albums included About Face by #1 Dads, Built On Glass by Chet Faker, Gon’ Boogaloo by C.W. Stoneking, Grassed Inn by Blank Realm, Laura Jean by Laura Jean, Tales by The Peep Tempel, The Sleeper by Caitlin Park and Typical System by Total Control.

Check out our recent Speaker Session with REMI below from this year’s Falls Festival in Lorne.