The Melbourne Zoo Twilights series is back – bigger and better than ever – with a diverse range of music set to rock the Parkville lawn every Friday and Saturday night throughout Jan, Feb and March.

From country-tinged twangs and sweet honeyed folk, to modern pop bangers, old time croons and good old rock n’ roll, the 2016 program has something for everyone.

American pop princess Belinda Carlisle will be bringing the 80s to you. Alongside local new wave heroes Pseudo Echo (making their Zoo debut), she has three decades of pop hits like ‘Our Lips Are Sealed’ and ‘Heaven Is A Place On Earth’ to get you on your fluorescent feet.

The line-up includes Swedish indie folk artist José González, country queen Kasey Chambers, folk sweethearts The Waifs, indie poppers San Cisco, indie rockers Birds of Tokyo and hokum-blues extraordinaire C. W. Stoneking.

The Zoo Twilights fighting extinction theme continues, after a successful year of developments with the Eastern Barred Bandicoot and in 2016 the season’s proceeds will once again go towards saving the little marsupial.

Tickets to all shows include full access to the Zoo before the show begins: arrive early and wander among the many exhibits before you settle in for a night of great music. See lions, tigers, elephants, meerkats, lemurs and more in the incredible surrounds of Melbourne Zoo – and be sure to pack a picnic.

Oooh, heaven is a place on earth…

MELBOURNE ZOO TWILIGHTS 2016:

Friday 29 January
Far From Folsom Featuring Tex Perkins 
and The Tennessee Four with Rachael Tidd
Doors open 5.30pm with special guest Vic Simms

Saturday 30 January
The Waifs
Doors open 5.30pm with special guest Ruby Boots

Friday 5 February
José González
Doors open 5.30pm with special guests Tiny Ruins

Saturday 6 February
John Butler Trio
Doors open 5.30pm with special guests Tinpan Orange

Friday 12 February
Josh Pyke
Doors open 5.30pm with special guests Winterbourne

Saturday 13 February
Birds Of Tokyo
Doors open 5.30pm with special guests Fractures

Friday 19 February
Jebediah
Doors open 5.30pm with special guest Glenn Richards (from Augie March)

Saturday 20 February
Mark Seymour & The Undertow
Doors open 5.30pm with special guest Ben Salter

Friday 26 February
San Cisco + Last Dinosaurs
Doors open 5.30pm

Saturday 27 February
Kasey Chambers
Doors open 5.30pm with special guest Karise Eden

Friday 4 March
Colin Hay
Doors open 5.30pm

Saturday 5 March
C.W. Stoneking
Doors open 5.30pm with special guest Marlon Williams

Friday 11 March
Björn Again
Doors open 5.30pm

Saturday 12 March
Belinda Carlisle
Doors open 5.30pm with special guests Pseudo Echo

Tickets go on sale 8am Thursday 22 October from zoo.org.au/twilights.