Kiwi crooner Marlon Williams has released a dramatic new video for latest rollicking single ‘Hello Miss Lonesome‘.

Described by The Fader as “a cross between a Sia video and a bar fight”, the clip sees Williams be thrown, punched, cuddled and unclothed. “I have never felt so sore as the day after the shoot,” Williams said of the filming. “It took a while to recover from being thrown around like that. I really enjoyed that physicality, though.”

As solid as the song is (in all its chorus backing, moody glory), it’s worth noting his bold performance, teased out by director Damien Shatford. “The nudity is incidental I think, and I like that it plays into the naturalness of the theatre,” Williams added about the closing scenes of the clip. “I’m being stripped down by these characters – these different parts of my psyche – and being left alone by myself.”

The video comes on the eve of a huge run of shows down the East Coast of Australia, plus performances with Paul Kelly, Lucinda Williams and Kasey Chambers for A Day On The Green.

2015 might have been a huge year for Marlon Williams, but it is just the beginning…

MARLON WILLIAMS 2015 TOUR DATES:

Thu. Nov. 12 – Maroochydore, AU @ Sol Bar
Fri. Nov. 13 – Currumbin, AU @ Solid Lounge
Sat. Nov. 14 – Brisbane, AU @ Woolly Mammoth
Sun. Nov. 15 – Byron Bay, AU @ Byron Theare
Mon. Nov. 16 – Bellingen, AU @ St Margaret’s Hall
Fri. Nov. 20 – Newcastle, AU @ The Small Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 21 – Sydney, AU @ Oxford Arts Factory
Sun. Nov. 22 – Milton, New South Wales @ Milton Theatre
Tue. Nov. 24 – Wollongong, New South Wales @ Rad Bar
Wed. Nov. 25 – Canberra, AU @ Transit Bar
Fri. Nov. 27 – Melbourne, AU @ Prince Bandroom
Sat. Nov. 28 – Hunter Valley, New South Wales @ A Day on the Green
Sun. Nov. 29 – Mount Cotton, Queensland @ A Day on the Green
Thu. Dec. 3 – Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. Dec. 4 – Darwin, AU @ Railway Club
Sat. Dec 5 – Melbourne, The Last Waltz Revisited @The Arts Centre
Sun. Dec. 6 – Yarra Valley, VIC @ A Day on the Green
Thu. Dec. 10 – Geelong, VIC @ The Workers Club
Fri. Dec. 11 – Newport, VIC @ The Substation
Sat. Dec. 12 – Barossa Valley, AU @ A Day on the Green
Sun. Dec. 13 – Kings Park, AU @ A Day on the Green

2016 SHOWS:

Feb 28 – Perth Festival
March 5 – Melbourne Zoo
March 9 – Powerstation, Auckland
March 11 – Sydney Zoo
March 12 – PANAMA Festival, TAS
March 13/14 – WOMADelaide