The Veronicas, AC/DC, Chet Faker and Courtney Barnett each have songs in contention for APRA‘s annual Song Of The Year Award, with all but the first scoring multiple entries on the shortlist for 2014.

The list was announced yesterday following the first round of voting from APRA members. The second round of voting will decide which shortlisted song will win the prize. One of the currently contending bands, AC/DC, took home the inaugural award for ‘Highway To Hell’ back in 1982 when it was called The Gold Awards. More recently, Vance Joy’s ‘Riptide’ won in 2013. The Finn brothers, Daniel Johns, Ben Lee and Gotye have also won the award in previous years.

The winning track will be announced at the APRA Music Awards at Sydney’s Carriageworks on March 24th. Second round voters automatically go in the draw to win a Gibson Les Paul as well as two tickets to the ceremony, but again, you must be a registered APRA member currently living in Australia to vote. Voting on the APRA website closes at 5pm on Thursday January 29th.

Here’s the list:

‘1998’ – (Written and performed by Chet Faker)

‘A Dog Starved’ – (Written by Glenn Richards and performed by Augie March)

‘All Nations’ – (Written by Natalie Pa’apa’a & Carlo Santone and performed byBlue King Brown)

‘Anonymous Club’ – (Written and performed by Courtney Barnett)

‘Bittersweet’ – (Written and performed by Kasey Chambers & Bernard Fanning)

‘Carol’ – (Written by Steven Carter, Stewart Rayner & Blake Scott and performed byThe Peep Tempel)

‘Cellophane’ – (Written by Stuart MacKenzie and performed by King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard)

‘Chandelier’ – (Written by SIA and Jesse Shatkin (ASCAP) and performed by SIA)

‘Cosby Sweater’ – (Written by Barry Francis, Matthew Lambert, Daniel Smith, Demitris Christopoulos (PRS) & John Kelman (PRS) and performed by Hilltop Hoods)

‘Geronimo’ – (Written by Jason Bovino, Amy Sheppard & George Sheppard and performed by Sheppard)

Gold – (Written and performed by Chet Faker)

‘Heart Beats Slow’ – (Written and performed by Angus & Julia Stone)

‘High’ – (Written by Adam Hyde, Samuel Littlemore, Nicole Millar & Reuben Styles-Richards and performed by Peking Duk Feat. Nicole Millar)

‘Kimberly Calling’ – (Written and performed by Dan Sultan)

‘Livin In The City’ – (Written by John Butler and performed by John Butler Trio)

‘Pickles From The Jar’ – (Written and performed by Courtney Barnett)

‘Play Ball’ – (Written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young and performed byAC/DC)

‘Rock Or Bust’ – (Written by Angus Young and Malcolm Young and performed byAC/DC)

‘Saramona Said’ – (Written by Luke Boerdam, Luke Henery, Michael Richards & James Tidswell and performed by Violent Soho)

‘Somebody’s Talking’ – (Written by Isabella Manfredi, Jack Moffitt, Gideon Bensen, Thomas Champion and Luke Davison and performed by The Preatures)

‘Talk Is Cheap’ – (Written and performed by Chet Faker)

‘Van Diemens Land’ – (Written by Shannon Bourne & Russell Morris and performed by Russell Morris)

‘When We’re Older’ – (Written by Mia Dyson, Lee Pardini (ASCAP) & Erin Sidney (ASCAP) and performed by Mia Dyson)

‘You Ruin Me’ – (Written by Anthony Egizii, David Musumeci, Jessica Origliasso & Lisa Origliasso and performed by The Veronicas)