A huge year for Australian music was capped off last night with the 27th ARIA Awards Ceremony. The night was filled with amazing performances from some of our favourite talents including Flume, Lorde and Tame Impala.

The big winner on the night was Flume who walked away with four awards including Best Male, Best Dance Album, Breakthrough Artist – Release and Producer of the Year. Audiences were treated to a stellar performance by Flume who delivered an epic rendition of ‘The Greatest View’, a song originally written for Intel and features on the deluxe edition of his self-titled album.

Album of the Year went to the psychedelic group Tame Impala, once again proving their album ‘Lonerism’ is truly a work of art. The band also won Best Group and Best Rock Album before closing the show with their hit ‘Feels Like We Only Go Backwards’. 

Other notable winners were Tom & Alex (Triple J), Matt Corby and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds. Guy Sebastian and Jessica Mauboy both walked about with awards, quashing the ‘Idol Curse’ which has seen Idol artists go without peer-voted awards until now.

Alicia Keys added some foreign flavour to the affair, performing her single ‘Girl on Fire’ while Lorde had audiences singing along to her gold single ‘Team’.

2013 was a year that saw 13 Australian albums go to #1, making it the most successful year for Australian albums in ARIA Charts history.

Follow the links to check out our past interviews with winners Flume and Tame Impala!


Full List of Winners:

Flume, Flume
Best Male
Best Dance Album
Breakthrough Artist – Release
Producer Of The Year

Tame Impala, Lonerism

Album Of The Year
Best Group
Best Rock Album 

Guy Sebastian, Armageddon
Best Pop Release 
Best Australian Live Act

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Push the Sky Away
Best Independent Release
Best Adult Contemporary Album

Jessica Mauboy, To the End of the Earth
Best Female Artist  


Matt Corby, Resolution
ARIA Song Of The Year


Russell Morris, Sharkmouth
Best Blues and Roots Album 


Justine Clarke, A Little Day Out with Justine Clarke
Best Children’s Album


Tom & Alex, The Bits We’re Least Ashamed Of
Best Comedy Release 

Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson, Wreck & Ruin
Best Country Album

Karnivool, Asymmetry
Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album

Illy, Bring It Back
Best Urban Album 

Samantha Jade, Firestarter
Best Video – Directed by Christopher Frey

One Direction, Take Me Home
Best International Artist

Air Supply
ARIA Hall Of Fame

Michael Gudinski
ARIA Industry Icon Award