After over two years in the making, Sydney four-piece Gang Of Youths have finally debuted their first studio album The Positions Today! (April 17). To celebrate the release, the band has also announced a National Tour over six dates in May.

The thematics of the 10-track LP derive from front man David Leaupepe‘s four-year relationship with his terminally ill girlfriend, and the challenging ways in which he dealt with such a life. The tragedy that sits at the forefront of the record’s creation has made for a debut that is both brutally honest and heartbreakingly unforgiving, all the while eliciting feelings of hope, anger, fear and love.

With heart-throbbing drums, reverberating guitar riffs, catchy keys, and Leaupepe’s dreamy throat-rumbling vocals, Gang Of Youths is best described as sombre rock with an unprecedented catharsis that will both warm your heart, and chill your bones.

Singles ‘Poison Drum,’ ‘Restraint & Release,’ ‘Radioface’ and ‘Knuckles White Dry’ have already appeared over the past couple of years, which only highlights the Band’s relentlessness in perfecting the long-awaited release to best encapsulate Leaupepe’s overarching vision.

Melancholy on a catastrophic scale, The Positions will grab your full attention and hold it long after the final song is up.

Gang Of Youths ‘The Positions’ Track List

1. Vital Signs
2. Poison Drum
3. The Diving Bell
4. Restraint & Release
5. Magnolia
6. Kansas
7. Knuckles White Dry
8. Radioface
9. Sjamboksa
10. The Overpass

Gang Of Youths ‘The Positions’ May 2015 Tour Dates

Fri, 15th May @ Oxford Art Factory, Sydney 
Sat, 16th May @ Woolly Mammoth, Brisbane 
Fri, 22nd May @ Northcote Social Club, Melbourne 
Sun, 24th May @ The Exeter Beer Garden, Adelaide 
Fri, 29th May @ Jimmy’s Den, Perth 
Sat, 30th May @ Mojos Bar, Fremantle
The Positions is available digitally here and through selected retailers.