The race for the highly anticipated 11th Australian Music Prize (AMP) is heating up, with the final twelve albums being added to the Longlist of fifty-six contenders for the best Australian album of 2015.

The most recent and final additions to the list include Au.Ra, Darren Hanlon, Dumbsaint, Gang of Youths, GUM, Hierophants, Leah Senior, Mathas, Moses Gunn Collective, Orpheus Omega, Sampa The Great and Tuka.

Dan Kelly, who was added to the longlist last year, talked about the tremendous honour of being included in the Longlist, alongside names such as Royal Headache, Tame Impala, Totally Mild, My Disco, Courtney Barnett and Jess Ribeiro.  “The diversity of the list is very inspiring.  So many styles to plunder for my next disc/stream!” before promising to buy some golden swimmers and go snorkelling in the Maldives if he were to win the $30,000 prize money.

The Longlist is now set to be dramatically narrowed down with an announcement of the judges’ final contenders to be announced on February 3, before the winner announcement at the ‘Amped Up In Conversation’ event on March 9.

You can view the full Longlist for The 11th AMP below:

The Apartments – ‘No Song, No Spell, No Madrigal’
Au.Ra – ‘Jane’s Lament’
Bad//Dreems – ‘Dogs At Bay’
Blank Realm – ‘Illegals In Heaven’
Courtney Barnett – ‘Sometimes I Sit And Think, Sometimes I Just Sit.
Cured Pink – ‘As A Four Piece Band’
Dan Kelly – ‘Leisure Panic!’
Daniel Johns – ‘Talk’
Darren Hanlon – ‘Where Did You Come From?’
Daughter’s Fever – ‘Daughter’s Fever’
Dick Diver – ‘Melbourne, Florida’
Dumbsaint – ‘Panorama, In Ten Pieces’
Förstöra – ‘For All That Will Save Or Destroy Us’
Fuck the Fitzroy Doom Scene – ‘Facing The Ruin’
Gang of Youths – ‘The Positions’
Gold Class – ‘It’s You’
The Grates – ‘Dream Team’
Grenadiers ‘Summer’
GUM – ‘Glamorous Damage’
Hermitude ‘Dark Night Sweet Light’
Hiatus Kaiyote – ‘Choose Your Weapon’
Hierophants – ‘Parallax Error’
High Tension – ‘Bully’
HOLY HOLY – ‘When The Storms Would Come’
Jaala – ‘Hard Hold’
Jess Ribeiro – ‘Kill It Yourself’
King Parrott – ‘Dead Set’
Leah Senior – ‘Summer’s On The Ground’
Marlon Williams – ‘Marlon Williams’
Mathas – ‘Armwrestling Atlas’
Melanie Horsnellell – ‘Quatre Chemins’
METHYL ETHEL – ‘Oh Inhuman Spectacle’
Moses Gunn Collective – ‘Mercy Mountain’
MY DISCO – ‘Severe’
Nite Fields – ‘Depersonalisation’
Oh Mercy – ‘When We Talk About Love
Oisima – ‘Nicaragua Nights’
Orpheus Omega – ‘Partum Vita Mortem’
Palms – ‘Crazy Rack’
Parkway Drive – ‘Ire’
Peter Bibby – ‘Butcher/Hairstylist/Beautician’
POND – ‘Man, It Feels Like Space Again’
Rand & Holland – ‘Rand And Holland’
Roland Tings – ‘Roland Tings’
Royal Headache – ‘High’
Sally Greenaway – Australian Composer – ‘Aubade & Nocturne’
Sally Whitwell – ‘I Was Flying’
Sampa The Great – ’The Great Mixtape’
Sarah Blasko – ‘Eternal Return’
Sarah Mary Chadwick – ‘9 Classic Tracks’
Szymon – ’Tigersapp’
Tame Impala – ‘Currents’
Terrible Truths – ‘Terrible Truths’
Thy Art Is Murder – ‘Holy War’
Totally Mild – ‘Down Time’
Tuka – ‘Life Death Time Eternal’

For more information go to: