Melbourne Music week’s industry conference Face The Music has added a further international speaker for its 2014 event.

UK media presenter and voice of BBC Three Jen Long will be speaking at the November event alongside the already announced production heavy weight Steve Albini.

Presented as a guest of Melbourne Music Week, Jen will contribute to a number of Face The Music panels and discussions and will be in Melbourne all week to experience some great music and meet artists at this massive annual music showcase.

Long’s Radio 1 Program, titled Introducing, has been responsible for discovering some of the best unsigned, up coming and under the radar artists.

Closer to home, Long has also worked alongside DZ Deathrays through her own record label Kissability, which is in partnership with Transgressive. Not stopping there, Long also manages bands, writes extensively for the UK music press and coordinates International Cassette Store Day.

As well as the announcement of Long’s appearance at the event, Face The Music has also revealed a new batch of speakers including Helen Croome (Gossling), Evelyn Morris (Pikelet), Drew Wootton (The Panics) and Stu Grant (Primitive Calculators) as well as industry professionals Ange Henley (Meredith Music Festival), Rhett McLaren (The Hills Are Alive, UNIFIED), Pete Williamson (Sabretusk), Tim Dalton (Collarts), John Wardle (National Live Music Office), Zac Abroms (Viceroyalty), Tom Harris (White Sky), Shane Wickens (The Push) and Sarah Guppy (This Much Talent).

The 2014 inception of Face The Music will also feature a plethora of knowledgable industry seminars and discussions led by some of the countries leading names.

Face The Music 2014 – Arts Centre Melbourne

Friday November 14th & Saturday 15th
Tickets available from

First Announcement

Steve Albini – Artist / Engineer
Daddy Cool
Ed Nimmervoll – Music Journalist
Dave Batty – Custom Made / Artist Voice
Johann Ponniah – I OH YOU
Briese Abbott – Spark & Opus
Ben Thompson – Corner Presents
James Young – Cherry Bar, Yah Yahs
Antonia Sellbach – Love of Diagrams, Beaches
Harley Evans – Moshtix
Millie Millgate – Sounds Australia
Glenn Dickie – Sounds Australia
Chris Hatzis – 3RRR
Cara Williams – Beat
Chris Johnson – AMRAP/CBAA
Emma Telfer – The Office Of Good Design
Sophia Brous – Artist / Curator
Caleb Williams – Unified
Kirsty Rivers – APRA AMCOS
Yvette Myhill – AAM
Patrick Donovan – Music Victoria
Leigh Treweek –

Second Announcement 

Jen Long – BBC Three / Radio 1
Helen Croome – Gossling
Evelyn Morris – Pikelet
Drew Wootton – The Panics
Stu Grant – Primitive Calculators
Ange Henley – Angela Henley Publicity
Rhett McLaren – The Hills Are Alive / Unified
Pete Williamson – Sabretusk
Tim Dalton – Collarts
John Wardle – National Live Music Office
Zac Abroms – Viceroyalty
Tom Harris – Whitesky
Shane Wickens – The Push
Sarah Guppy – This Much Talent