Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros recently released their brand new single, ‘Hot Coals’, taken from their next album, set to surface in 2016.

Opening with a single acoustic guitar, the track is a simplistic beauty, filled with feathery vocals, surprising lyrics and multiple peak points. With over seven minutes of sound, the epic track is the group’s first release featuring a brand new line-up after partying ways with frontwoman, Jade Castrinos.

Moving away from their typical folk style tunes, the new formation seems to have employed an indie rock sound for their latest release.

Marking the start of something new, ‘Hot Coals’ is a breath of fresh air. The soft, subtle vocal tones, matched with groovy piano hooks, creates the ultimate contrast.

Hidden underneath a veneer of dense instrumentals are what can only be described love song lyrics. Sharpe sings “Thin memories in love with you, my hoary fire, in love with you”.

While ‘Hot Coals’ is a remarkable release, the re-invention is sure to leave loyal fans wondering – what other changes are Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros set to make?

For more information, head to the Official Website of Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros.

The group will release their brand new album via Community Records and Create/Control in 2016.