Melbourne five-piece Darts have just joined the ranks at seminal Sydney label Rice Is Nice (also home to Donny Benét, Frowning Clouds, Seekae, and SPOD) ahead of their forthcoming debut LP Below Empty and Westward Bound.

In celebration of this beautiful union of band and label, members Ally Campbell-Smith, Paige X. Cho, Jessie Fernandez and brothers Angus and Andrew Ayers have shared a 32-second sneak-preview of their first single ‘Westward Bound’. Mastered by Joe Laporta (Yuck, Wavves, Arcade Fire), the song is frenetic and punchy garage punk rock with a smooth melodic polish. It is accompanied by a similarly frantic teaser video, featuring beautiful flashing imagery split screened with the band’s live footage.

Below Empty and Westward Bound was recorded in a Melbourne bedroom, and as the band has stated, is about ‘dealing with depression and the related feelings one experiences such as isolation, anger, frustration, and generally just feeling hopeless.’ The debut album is set for release May 15 2015.

Watch the teaser video and single below: