Highview – Throwaway Lessons

Canberra based Highview deliver an aggressive drive on their new track Throwaway Lessons’ from their debut EP Take Your Time. Established in 2005, Highview has cumulated melodies and lyrics from the past 10 years in creating Take Your Time.  The band’s focus is now on performing live as much as possible, with stops around the country throughout 2017.

Through a Glass Darkly – Possible Worlds

From their debut album Oneriric, the surreal 12-minute track Possible Worlds, is more sound art than a song. Meaning to suggest, or relate to, dreams, Oneriric is an exploration of the equivocal world that we find in our sleep. Through a Glass Darkly is made up of three Melbourne based musicians who specialise in experimental improvisation. From start to finish the track takes you on an avant-garde journey through just what the title suggests, Possible Worlds. 

Max Flynn – Love You Hard

Max Flynn has graced us with another taste of his stunning electronica with his second single ‘Love You Hard.’ Blissfully taking us through the angst of what Flynn describes as a “difficult kind of love” that we have all been privy to. ‘Love You Hard’ has it’s own heartbeat that couples with some fantastic guitar work and spiralling synths in a track produced, written and played by Flynn himself.

The Sea Gypsies – Demons

Hailing from New South Wales’ Central Coast, The Sea Gypsies tell an empathetic story on their new single ‘Demons.’ Luke Marlin’s soulful tones reel listeners into the familiar battle against one’s personal demons, in an emotive fashion unfamiliar in most rock music. The quintet has been making waves with their infamous ability to pull a crowd with their rock, reggae blend. With a single of this quality, those crowds are sure to grow.

udmo – Slow Day

udmo has released the ambient ‘Slow Day,’ the first single from their upcoming record Luba Luft. The ethereal production from ‘Slow Day’ creates an all encompassing two minutes and 2o seconds of serene deep house that udmo says explores the themes of industry and space. ‘Slow Day’ is a whimsical track that is fully immersive in the best way.

LANKS – Comfortable

LANKS, A.K.A. Melbourne singer-songwriter and producer Will Cuming, has dropped his moving new single ‘Comfortable’. The emotional track is written from the perspective of Cuming’s close friend who works in mental health. Through Cuming’s soft vocals and multifaceted production, Comfortable’ explores the emotional challenges faced by mental health workers and it tells of the selflessness shown by workers in the industry. Along with the single, LANKS has announced a headline national tour in August, with stops in Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne and Perth.

Tempus Sun – Owls

Tempus Sun have released their debut single ‘Owls’; the latest addition to Melbourne’s alternative pop/rock field. The six-piece band have created a euphoric vibe in ‘Owls’. The track speaks of “seizing the opportunity to overcome adversity, take risks and follow dreams” while highlighting the importance of speaking out about struggle. Featuring a combination of vocals over a dreamy, genre diverse instrumental ‘Owls’ won Tempus Sun the top prize in the prestigious 2016 Melbourne Music Bank competition for a reason.