The 28th annual ARIA Awards went off at Sydney’s The Star Event Centre last night, with the heavyweights of the music industry all competing for the prestigious pointy award.

Aussie electronica artist Chet Faker and kooky, Adelaide-born songstress Sia took out the most nominations and wins this year, in between performances from chart-toppers One Direction, Katy Perry and 5 Seconds of Summer. Industry legend Ian ‘Molly Meldrum was also inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame.

ARIA Awards 2014 Winners:

Album Of The Year: Sia — 1000 Forms of Fear

Song Of The Year: 5 Seconds Of Summer – ‘She Looks So Perfect’

Best Female Artist: Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear (Inertia Recordings)

Best Male Artist: Chet Faker — Built On Glass

Breakthrough Artist Release: Iggy Azalea – The New Classic (Virgin/Universal Music Australia)

Best Group: Sheppard – Bombs Away (Empire of Song/Chugg Music)

Best Independent Release: Chet Faker – Built on Glass

Best Rock Album: Dan Sultan – Blackbird (Liberation Music)

Best Blues And Roots Album: John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood (Jarrah Records/MGM)

Best Dance Release: Peking Duk featuring Nicole Millar – High (Vicious Bitch/Universal)

Best Pop Release: Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear (Inertia Recordings)

Best Urban Album: Hilltop Hoods – Walking Under Stars (Golden Era Records/Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)

Best Hard Rock And Heavy Metal Album: DZ Deathrays – Black Rat (I Oh You/Illusive/UMA) – WINNER

Best Children’s Album: The Wiggles – Apples & Bananas (ABC Music/UMA)

Best Comedy Release: Buddy Goode – It’s A Buddy Goode Christmas (ABC Music/UMA)

Best Country Album: Kasey Chambers – Bittersweet (Essence Group)

Best Adult Contemporary Album: Neil Finn & Paul Kelly – Goin’ Your Way (EMI)


Publicly Voted Awards

Best Australian Live Act: Keith Urban (EMI)

Best International Artist: One Direction – Midnight Memories (Syco Music)

Best Video: Sia Furler & Daniel Askill for Sia – ‘Chandelier’ (Inertia Recordings)

Song Of The Year: 5 Seconds of Summer – She Looks So Perfect (EMI)


ARIA 2014 Fine Arts & Artisan Awards

Artisan Awards

Engineer of the Year: Eric J Dubowsky for Chet Faker – Built On Glass (Future Classic)

Producer Of The Year: Nicholas Murphy for Chet Faker – Built On Glass (Future Classic)

Best Cover Art: Tin & Ed for Chet Faker – Built On Glass (Future Classic)

Fine Arts Award Nominees

Best Classical Album: Lior / Sydney Symphony Orchestra / Nigel Westlake – Compassion (ABC Classics /Universal Music Australia)

Best Jazz Album: Paul Grabowsky Sextet – The Bitter Suite (ABC Jazz/UMA) – WINNER

Best Original Soundtrack / Cast / Show Album: Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu / Sydney Symphony Orchestra – Gurrumul : His Life And Music (ABC Music/UMA)

Best World Music Album: Joseph Tawadros – Permission to Evaporate (ABC Music/UMA)