Alex Lahey’s B-Grade University EP launched her music career in 2016 and nabbed her an opening spot at Splendour In The Grass last year.

Now the singer songwriter is back, and has just announced her debut album I Love You Like A Brother. The first single, ‘Every Day’s The Weekend’ is the perfect anthem song for Alex Lahey’s fans.

Alex Lahey’s success grabbed the attention of Pitchfork, Brooklyn Vegan, Rolling Stone and Stereogum. Yet her rapidly rising success hasn’t stopped her seeing her life as ordinary.

“I fall in love, I have a family, I go out with my friends, I like to have a drink,” she says.

Her music explores millennial angst and all the complicated feelings that come with it. Alex Lahey’s ability to put these ideas into her punchy indie-rock music is encapsulated in I Love You Like A Brother.

This is seen in the newly released music video for ‘Every Day’s The Weekend.’ It features kooky humour and cameos from Australian comedian Barry Morgan, and even Alex Lahey’s mum. The video was created by Alex Lahey’s long-time collaborator, Jam Nawaz. Who’s also worked with the likes of Remi and Bec Sandridge.

The release of her debut album can be celebrated by fans on Alex Lahey’s newly announced October tour. After her sellout show in May, the I Love You Like A Brother tour will have a bunch of shows running across the country.

Grab your tickets here!  

Tour Dates:

Wed Oct 4 – 48 Watt St Newcastle

Friday Oct 6 – OAF, Sydney

Sat Oct 7 – The Zoo, Brisbane

Wed Oct 11 – Karova Lounge, Ballarat

Thurs Oct 12 – Workers Club, Geelong

Friday Oct 13, Fat Controller, Adelaide

Saturday Oct 14, Republic Bar, Hobart

Wed Oct 18 – Corner Hotel, Melbourne

Thurs Oct 19 – Rosemount, Perth

Friday Oct 20, Mojos, Fremantle