Music Victoria has announced their inaugural Top 10 Victorian Councils for Music list.

The listed councils are recognised for their efforts in ensuring that live music and the arts are well represented in their community. The Top 10 Councils for 2017 are as follows:

City of Ballarat
City of Darebin
City of Greater Geelong
Maribyrnong City Council
City of Melbourne
Moreland City Council
Mornington Peninsula Shire
City of Port Phillip
City of Stonnington
City of Yarra

Councils are selected based on meeting the criteria that they are developing and implementing strategic plans for contemporary music in their community, providing grants and programs, curating, supporting and funding local music festivals and offering the use of council facilities to local musicians.